aint no sunshine in the library, duh.

Imagine my surprise when I saw that the CEO of Whole Foods, one Mr. John Mackey, wrote an op-ed in the Wall Street Journal that had a Maggie Thatcher quote at the top! Whaaaat? You mean to tell me that the CEO of Whole Foods isn’t a progressive and supports Thatcherite economics? Who knew that a conservative was capable of running a corporation that appealed to a largely liberal clientele. I feel hoodwinked. Flabbergasted even. Nonetheless, Mr. Mackey’s assertion that “We are all responsible for our own lives and our own health. We should take that responsibility very seriously and use our freedom to make wise lifestyle choices that will protect our health” is a good one. Darksyde at Daily Kos, however, has decided to boycott Whole Foods as a result of this op-ed. Really dude? I don’t agree with Mr. Mackey’s overarching argument but he has several good nuggets in there. Below is one:

Rather than increase government spending and control, we need to address the root causes of poor health. This begins with the realization that every American adult is responsible for his or her own health.

Unfortunately many of our health-care problems are self-inflicted: two-thirds of Americans are now overweight and one-third are obese. Most of the diseases that kill us and account for about 70% of all health-care spending—heart disease, cancer, stroke, diabetes and obesity—are mostly preventable through proper diet, exercise, not smoking, minimal alcohol consumption and other healthy lifestyle choices.

Of course, Mr. Mackey’s piece is lacking in any analysis of some of the relationships between class and poor health and neglects to consider that many of the poorest people in America are also the least healthy (and also lack health care) and is clearly of the misguided and flawed notion that everyone’s fate as it relates to matters of health is wholly within their power to change as long as they know how to get a nice, firm grip on their bootstraps. Still, people should take more responsibility for themselves when it comes to staying healthy, but its important to remember that someone being obese isn’t a good enough to justify their not having health care.

Meghan Daum of the LA Times wrote an interesting piece on John Hughes and seems to miss the days when we weren’t all so medicated. I sure don’t. What would I do without any anxiety medication!? Probably just be an even bigger weirdo.

Jet Blue has a kind of amazing deal going on right now where you can fly all over the country as many times as you want over the course of a month for the flat fee of 599 dollars.

This is for all my friends that manage to lose their iPhones.

Apparently Major League Baseball just signed a deal with Topps giving the athletic card company exclusive rights. Sayanora Upper Deck. I continue to hold out hope that my massive Barry Bonds card collection will provide me with a significant portion of my retirement fund in a few decades. Realistic?

Mile Raymer at the Chicago Reader has written a retrospective on Lollapalooza. I know, I know. Can I make it any more clear that I really, really wish that I was there this year? With Pitchfork being such a letdown (thanks for the mediocre set DOOM!), I clearly didn’t get my fill of music festival antics this summer. Boo hoo.

Also, here in Chicago there is a celebration of the 50th anniversary of the release of William Burroughs’s Naked Lunch going down on August 28th, hosted randomly by  Peter Weller (Robocop!) and featuring poet Anne Waldman, the performance artist Penny Arcade, and everyone’s favorite Chicago-based terrorist Bill Ayers (YES!), among others. Tickets are pretty pricy but it sounds pretty sweet and with a bizarre lineup of characters like that it will surely be interesting.

I’m off to the library (I blogged before getting there to ensure my own unfettered productivity). I wish I had the free time and wherewithal to enjoy the wonderful Midwestern weather we have been getting recently but the days of my being darkly tanned are a thing of the distant past when I was a lifeguard.

Leave a Reply

