a brief respite from romantic England

Hiyo,

As most if not all of you are well aware, Ted Kennedy died yesterday. I would link to any number of fitting tributes and eulogies but I read one by a man I often don’t agree with, The Washington Post’s George Will, that I liked. If that link directly to the article at the WaPo’s site doesn’t work try this at Real Clear Politics. I don’t like to necessarily up RCP’s readership given their conservative leanings but it’s still a useful site if you aren’t familiar with it.

For those of you who are interested in America’s education system as teacher’s, teacher’s-to-be, or just interested outsiders, there is a rather long but quality article in The New Yorker on New York City’s teaching system.

Also, I’m in the process of finishing papers and moving to my new apartment in Wicker park so my updates might become less frequent and less interesting–assuming they are interesting at all. I’m currently banging away in UChicago’s equivalent of the Macalester library’s basement computer lab. It’s not quite as depressing and the computers are newer and nicer, so don’t feel too bad for me.

I’m currently reading Jenny Davidson’s Hypocrisy and the Politics of Politeness: Manners and Morals from Locke to Austen, Agamben’s Homo Sacer (again), Althusser’s On Ideology, Jameson’s The Political Unconscious, and William Godwin’s Enquiry Concerning Political Justice.  Check it out if that’s your thing. I know it’s probably not, but hey, who knows.

Short and boring. I’ll do better next time.

Leave a Reply

