Long Time

Yikes, my bad everyone. Just when I was getting a solid readership together I decided to stop updating altogether. Super lame on my part. Anyway, it has been a fairly intense past several weeks. As some of you may know, I decided to take a leave of absence from graduate school for this fall quarter, and potentially longer. This decision was by no means an easy one, and I made it under the counsel of several professors and administrators within the department. Bottom line, it was the best decision at the time and I think it could turn out to be a very good thing for me. 

In my spare time, I’ve been trying to resist the temptation to treat my unemployment/momentary exodus from graduate school as an excuse for unfettered partying. I have been moderately successful so far, though I could definitely stand to get my act together a bit more. One needs to grow up at some point, and 24 going on 25 seems like as good an age as any, right? I mean, at least it sounds good. 

Anyway, I’m rereading Leaves of Grass by Whitman, which is blowing my mind, again. I’m also reading Absalom, Absalom by Faulkner for the first time, which is also blowing my mind, but in a completely different kind of way. I’ve only read one Faulkner book previous, Intruder in the Dust, which was also very good but considerably less complicated in prose and plot than Absalom has proven to be. Absalom is one of those classics that has caused much embarrassment when I admit to not having read it, especially as a 20th century Americanist. Shhh, but I haven’t read Moby Dick either. 

Anyway, that is more or less what is going on with me. I made this playlist for my iPod last week and I’ve been pretty into it. Here it is:

  1. Hymn #101- Joe Pug
  2. Dead Sound- The Raveonettes
  3. Mykonos- Fleet Foxes
  4. Everyday- Vetiver
  5. Hearts on Fire- Cut Copy
  6. I’m Confused- Handsome Furs
  7. Magic Show- Electric Owls
  8. Oh Missy- Woolfy
  9. September- Earth, Wind, and Fire
  10. The Shaded Forests- Daestro
  11. Feel.Love.Thinking.Of.- Faunts
  12. So Fine- Telepathe
  13. Frustration- The Whip
  14. Leader of the Pack- Mapei
  15. Red F- Dan Deacon
  16. Lights Out- Santigold
  17. Solid Gold- The Golden Filter
  18. Stuck on Repeat- Little Boots
  19. The Reeling- Passion Pit
  20. And the Hazy Sea- Cymbals Eat Guitars
  21. Shadows- Au Revoire Simone
  22. Velvet- The Big Pink
  23. Get Off- Diplo/Blaqstarr
  24. Fatalist Palmistry- WHY?
  25. The Nun’s Litany- The Magnetic Fields
  26. Walking on a Dream- Empire of the Sun
  27. DVNO- Justice
  28. And the Beat Goes On- The Whispers
  29. Re: Stacks- Bon Iver
  30. Doo Wop (That Thing)- Lauryn Hill
  31. Let’s Stay Together- Al Green
  32. Brandy Alexander- Feist

 

So, this is a bit hyperbolic, but I think this could be the best/favorite mix I’ve ever made. I might post it to iTunes, which would be the first time I’ve ever done that but I’m feeling pretty good about it. I made it for the long commute down to Hyde Park but it has been serving all kinds of purposes since then. 

I’ll give a more substantial update soon, I swear. For now, let’s just say GO TWINS!

2 thoughts on “Long Time

Leave a Reply

