…that place where no help comes.” (Sarah Manguso in The Paris Review)

From a harrowing and heartbreaking essay by Sarah Manguso in the Paris Review called “The Guardians”, an exherpt from her forthcoming book of the same name that is an extended elegy for her friend Harris:

“I wrote my obituary soon after my college graduation. It seemed as necessary as knowing my Social Security number. I edited it from time to time, adding the names of books and towns. I also wrote the note that would be found with my corpse. For years I saved it in my file so it would be there when I needed it, but I don’t need it anymore. Now I save it to remember how far I have traveled from that place where no help comes.”

….

“I am no longer moved to write poetry, but I traded poetry for a longer life. I knew I was doing it.”

The book is available for pre-order here.

